Write It Down by Robert Finkelstein

Write-down-your-note“Write it down.” No simpler words were ever spoken. Okay, so that might not be true, but this is a very easy task. It only takes a little discipline. Write it down. A few years ago, my boss at the time instilled in me the importance of getting your appointments, conversations, thoughts, anything and everything down on paper. He always had a notebook with him. So now I do the same. Even at night, I have a notepad on my bedside table. I can’t tell you how often I wake up in the middle of the night with something in mind for the next day. Before the days of writing it down, I would usually forget what it was. Now that never happens. I jot a few words down and I’m back to sleep.

The important thing here is that it becomes routine. If it seems important, make a note of it. If it doesn’t seem important…yup, you got it, make a note of it. Okay, you don’t have to go overboard, but it really is a great tool. I know there’s times when you can’t carry a notebook. I keep a voice recorder in my car. Your cellphone might even have a built-in application. Whatever works. When you get the chance, add it all back into your notebook. When you’ve filled one up, write the dates on it, and start on the next one. I know that many of you prefer to just type it into your computer – Mac, PC – it’s all good. But for the times when you’re not in front of that screen, which I hope is a good portion of your day, consider a notebook. I’m not suggesting you spend hours writing every detail of every moment of your day…unless that’s your blog.

If you can realize the value in this, it will become a very productive tool when fine tuned. Just keep in mind, that one idea, that one phone number, that one appointment, that one…that one that isn’t forgotten…what could it be worth to you?notebooks

The point is…write it down.

If you have any questions or comments,
please write them below or email me at Robert@RobertFinkelstein.com.

Leave a Reply

