Lead By Example by Robert Finkelstein

standoutThis can be easier said than done…but well worth the effort. As the former Managing Director of a Personal Development training company, I always set the standard high for myself. I wanted my team and our students to believe that we practice what we preach.

I’ve had plenty of experience with business owners and managers who prefer to live by the “do as I say, not as I do” methodology. They’re generally disliked, not respected, experience high turnovers and illicit poor performances from those they manage.

Here are a few thoughts on how to Lead By Example.
1. Treat your team with honesty and respect…just as you would want them to treat you.
2. Watch what you say and what you do. Most leaders are closely watched. Operated at a high level of integrity, and you will be supported.
3. Listen to others. They’ll feel valued. Communication is such a critical factor.
4. Be proactive, not reactive. When the team sees that you’re on top of things, they’ll rally behind you. If you’re not, and they’re constantly dealing with damage control, you’ll lose them.integrity
5. Keep your cool. Losing it shows weakness and insecurity. Be a levelheaded leader.
6. When you make a decision, stick to it. When someone else does, support it. If a decision turns out to be the right one, acknowledge the team. If it doesn’t, don’t point fingers. As a team, correct it and move on.
7. Do what you love. Not always possible, I know. If that’s the case, make the best of it. Don’t complain to your team. Discontent is very contagious.

Remember, how you do one thing, is how you do everything. Hold your head high and take the lead.

If you have any questions or comments,
please write them below or email me at Robert@RobertFinkelstein.com.

6 Responses to “Lead By Example by Robert Finkelstein”

  1. Tilman von der Linde Says:

    Encouragement and Acknowledgement are the best tools to work with.

  2. ucgmikebennett Says:

    Great tips. Your focus on leading by example and integrity reminds me of one of my favorite essays on leadership, “A New Look at Leadership” http://www.verticalthought.org/vt/vt08/newlook.htm — and amazingly it was written by a 17-year-old!

  3. thanx for sharing.. i definitely agree with all those…

    i’ll put you on my blogroll…

    http://productiveproactive.wordpress.com

  4. ucgmikebennett Says:

    Great idea. I think I’ll add Behind the Scenes to the Forward to the Kingdom http://ucgmikebennett.wordpress.com blogroll. I’m also working on a blog post on leading by example and would like to link to your great post!

  5. […] saw them both reflected in the leadership principles outlined in an excellent blog post called “Lead by Example” by Robert Finkelstein. (I came across his blog when he started following me on Twitter…the […]

Leave a Reply

