Sunday Observations – Death in the Family

top10_d_celeb750June 28, 2009. Death in the Family. Last week we lost three well known celebrities. Michael Jackson, Farrah Fawcett and Ed McMahon. Clearly MJ was the most famous, but each had an impact on us, our culture and a lasting legacy. How people reacted was quite amazing.

To read the rest of this of blog, please click on the link. “Sunday Observations

If you have any questions or comments,
please write them below or email me at Robert@RobertFinkelstein.com.

One Response to “Sunday Observations – Death in the Family”

  1. Hey Robert, I loved this post, it was awesome! I WAS totally drawn to tears upon the passing of Michael, a celebrity whom I never did get to meet. I was 13, and a girl in Junior High somehow got me to switch music from Ozzy Ozbourne and Judas Priest to MJ. I studied every dance move and learned how to do each and every music video from start to finish. By the time I was 16, I was going to clubs with my brother’s ID wearing flashy clothes, a glittery sash, white socks (people recognize the white socks for sure, I know you mentioned it to me a few times), a cumberbund with hanging chains, sometimes one glittery glove and some flashy costume jewelry. I can’t tell you how much I miss those days dancing on stage but now i’m 38, with a 15 year old daughter, and can’t tell you the last time I went dancing…and don’t have the stamina or figure of those golden years. Yes, it hurt when Michael passed, and I may attend the viewing at Neverland Ranch to pay my respects (even though it will be a zoo out there) and to network with his fans, hear the stories, and dance with fun people once again, I miss that! Michael meant a lot to me during my childhood, but the loss of relatives is the ultimate loss, as I lost my favorite aunt just last month and flew to Oklahoma to attend the funeral, only to find out that she had already been cremated, nothing hurt more than that, but as with Michael, “I’m over it”, which gives me more time to celebrate their lives versus grieving their life which has passed. Thanks for this post, you’re awesome! And to all the soldiers who have fought for my freedom and passed on, I honor your strength, courage and dedication to your country, you will never be forgotten!

Leave a Reply

